Book Your Future Reads #3 Upcoming Sapphic Young Adult Enemies to Lovers Novels

Book Your Future Reads is a feature on Stories in Space where I put a spotlight on upcoming releases that deserve recognition, a spot on your to be read lists, and to be your next pre-order purchases. Through this feature I want highlight novels I am excited about and novels I think you should be excited about too. This week I’m putting a spotlight on two upcoming young adult novels with sapphic pairings and the enemies to lovers trope: She Drives Me Crazy by Kelly Quindlen and I Think I Love You by Auriane Desombre.

She Drives Me Crazy by Kelly Quindlen

The first novel featured this week is She Drives Me Crazy. Now why should you book this novel into your future as a potential pre-order and read? She Drives Me Crazy has the following three aspects that should convince you,

  1. A sports romance between a basketball player and a cheerleader.
  2. The enemies to lovers fake dating trope.
  3. High school drama that is going to excite lovers of the young adult genre.

She Drives Me Crazy comes out on April 20, 2021. You can pre-order the novel on AmazonThe Book Depository, or The Ripped Bodice and add it to your Goodreads. Below is the cover and synopsis for the novel.

High school nemeses fall in love in this queer YA rom com perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Casey McQuisten.

After losing spectacularly to her ex-girlfriend in their first game since their break up, Scottie Zajac gets into a fender bender with the worst possible person: her nemesis, the incredibly beautiful and incredibly mean Irene Abraham. Things only get worse when their nosey, do-gooder moms get involved and the girls are forced to carpool together until Irene’s car gets out of the shop.

Their bumpy start the only gets bumpier the more time they spend together. But when an opportunity presents itself for Scottie to get back at her toxic ex (and climb her school’s social ladder at the same time), she bribes Irene into playing along. Hijinks, heartbreak, and gay fake-dating scheme for the ages. From author Kelly Quindlen comes a new laugh-out-loud romp through the ups and downs of teen romance.

I Think I Love You by Auriane Desombre

The second novel I want to highlight is I Think I Love You. Now why should you book this novel into your future as a potential pre-order and read? I Think I Love You has the following three aspects that should convince you,

  1. A film themed narrative with a film competition.
  2. A structure based on Much Ado About Nothing, as it is a contemporary retelling.
  3. Discourse on coming out and divorce.

I Think I Love You comes out on March 2, 2021. You can pre-order the novel on AmazonThe Book Depository, or The Ripped Bodice and add it to your Goodreads. Below is the cover and synopsis for the novel.

A YA contemporary rom com about two girls who start as rivals but after a twist of events, end up falling for one another—at least they think so. A pitch perfect queer romance—and it’s a paperback original!

Arch-nemeses Emma, a die-hard romantic, and more-practical minded Sophia find themselves competing against one another for a coveted first-prize trip to a film festival in Los Angeles . . . what happens if their rivalry turns into a romance? For fans of Becky Albertalli’s Leah on the Offbeat, full of laugh-out-loud humor and make-your-heart-melt moments.

Underlined is a line of totally addictive romance, thriller, and horror paperback original titles coming to you fast and furious each month. Enjoy everything you want to read the way you want to read it.


Are you excited for these two young adult enemies to lovers novels? Are you pre-ordering any of them? I hope I get to read She Drives Me Crazy and I Think I Love You soon.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.